Welcome to the Town of Groton, Connecticut

Patrol Division

bikeThe Patrol Division is the largest division within the Groton Town Police Department. It consists of 42 Patrol Officers, 7 Sergeants and 4 Lieutenants. Additionally, there are Supernumerary Officers that have full police powers.
Members of the Patrol Division are the first responders to the public's calls for service. Officers' responsibilities include the investigation of criminal incidents, motor vehicle accidents, traffic enforcement and community relations.

In addition, there are a host of specialized units within the Patrol Division that offer many opportunities for diversity, development and expansion of officers' experiences. Included in these specialized units are a K9 Unit, Dive Team, Marine Patrol, Motorcycle Unit, Accident Reconstruction Team and Bicycle Patrol.