Welcome to the Town of Groton, Connecticut


2022 Elections

Tuesday August 9, 2022 – State Primary Election
Tuesday November 8, 2022 – State and District Offices Election

Polls open 6:00am-8:00pm for all Elections

Voting locations for August 9, 2022 State Primary

District 1 –  Groton Public Library 52 Newtown Road, Groton
District 2 – *Thames River Magnet School, 250 Brandegee Avenue
District 3 –  Groton City Municipal Building 295 Meridian Street, Groton
District 4 –  Mary Morrison Elementary School 154 Tollgate Road, Groton
District 5 –  School Administration Building 1300 Flanders Road, Mystic
District 6 – *Mystic River Magnet School, 160 Fishtown Road, Mystic
District 7 –  Fitch High School 101 Groton Long Point Road, Groton

* Denotes a new voting location for Districts 2 and 6

PARTY AFFILIATION CHANGES: You may make changes to your party affiliation, from a major political party, up to 90 days before any Primary. For the August 9, 2022 Primary, the cut-off date is May 11, 2022. You may choose to make a change from one major political party to another after that date, but you will not be eligible to vote in this Primary.

Voter Registration

The deadline for registering and/or enrolling in person for voting in the August 9, 2022 Primary is August 4, 2022. You may register either at the Town Clerk’s Office or the Registrar of Voter’s Office.

Mail-in application of new voters must be received by the Registrar of Voters by August 4, 2022.

To register to vote online use this link https://voterregistration.ct.gov/OLVR/welcome.do

Voter - Election Day Registration (EDR) Law
The EDR Law does not apply to Special Elections or Primaries. Please contact the Registrar of Voters Office, if you have additional questions (860) 441-6650.

Absentee Ballots are available for the August 9, 2022 Primary beginning July 19, 2022.

The following are the standard exceptions:

  • My active service in the Armed Forces of the United States
  • My absence from the town during all of the hours of voting
  • Sickness
  • My religious tenets forbid secular activity on the day of the election or referendum
  • My duties as an election or referendum official at a polling place other than your own during all the hours of voting
  • Physical disability

Please return the completed application, with signature to the Groton Town Clerk’s office, 45 Fort Hill Road.  There is a designated mail box located at the Town Hall, for all election related material, including absentee ballot applications and completed absentee ballots. Please make sure to follow all instructions.  If you have any questions, contact the Town Clerk’s Office at 860-441-6640.

List of Democratic Candidates                                                                     
Secretary of the State            
*Stephanie Thomas
Maritza Bond

*Erick Russel
Dita Bhargava
Karen DuBois-Walton      

List of Republican Candidates          
United States Senator
*Themis Klarides
Leora R. Levy
Peter Lumaj

Secretary of the State
*Dominic Rapini
Brock Weber
Terrie E. Wood